6-2-12 Making Our Way from New York to Vermont

Please bear with me while I’m trying to figure out how to upload more pictures onto my blog without having to pay an upgrade fee.  Building a blog site is all new to me:)

Before driving up the Adirondack Mountains yesterday, Dale and I stopped in Utica, New York to get a quick bite to eat.  Following the suggestion of TripAdvisor, we stopped at Joey’s, which is a quaint and authentic Italian restaurant!  Dale had lasagna, everything made from scratch from the noodles to the sauce.  I had the stuffed green peppers, which I haven’t had for a long time.  The service was warm and welcoming:}

Our drive into the Adriondack Mountains was more beautiful that I could have even imagined!  Our little Honda Fit had no problem making it’s way up the mountains and to our next destination, Lake Placid, New York where we spent the night.  The weather has been rainy since yesterday, but we did get an opportunity when the rain subsided for about an hour, to walk downtown.  It reminded us alot of Lake Geneva with all it’s quanit shops.

This morning we took the ferry from Essex, New York to Vermont.  Shortly after making our way into Vermont, we came upon the Old Brick Store, which is a co-op in Charlotte, Vermont.  Come to find out after talking to a woman there, that her four daughters ran the co-op in this sustainable community.  She asked where we were from and I shared my story about my upcoming internship and she said I should go to the kitchen to talk with the chef, which I did.  Come to find out, they’re looking for a baker and the chef asked if I was interested, but I politely declined and offered to spread the word in the professional baking field:)

We finally made it to Ben & Jerry’s in Waterbury, Vermont – AWESOME!!!  The history video was great and to think this all started when Ben & Jerry met each other in 7th grade!  The beginning of their ice cream venture began after graduation when they both registered for an ice cream making class at a local college for only $5.00!  We got to tour the production facility afterwards, followed by a sample of their flavor of the month, mint chocolate chip – yum!  Of course, one little sample was not enough, so Dale and I both had their Blueberry Vanilla Graham Greek Yogurt ice cream – double yummy!!!  We also stopped at Cabot Cheese and had lots of cheese samples there too:)

We’re not far now from Wilder, Vermont, where I will be temporarily residing for the next 3 months.  We decided to spend tonight in Montpelier, which is approximately an hour from Wilder.  I’m excited to finally get settled in and have the opportunity to meet my temporary landlords.

I have so much to thank Dale for in his constant calm unwavering usual self driving 1,250 miles . . . . 1,300 once we arrive in Wilder, which should be by Noon tomorrow.  We’ll have tomorrow to spend time together before I have to drive him to the Manchester airport Monday morning:(

Thank you for following me on my blog and keep checking back!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Fenton
    Jun 04, 2012 @ 13:41:13

    Sounds like you are having wonderful adventures! I know you will miss your family but enjoy your time there to the fullest!

    Reply

    • Pam Barnes
      Jun 04, 2012 @ 17:05:06

      Hi Susan! I dropped Dale off at the airport this morning and halfway back to my temp residence, it hit me hard for a bit that it will be three months until I see Dale. He’s been so supportive through the beginning of my professional baking career! It will take a couple weeks to get into the swing of things, but I know I’ll be so busy, that the three months will pass quickly:)

      Reply

  2. Marilyn Thielman
    Jun 03, 2012 @ 16:12:20

    So fun to hear about your drive thru NY state! I was born in Syracuse and enjoyed your comments!

    Reply

    • Pam Barnes
      Jun 04, 2012 @ 17:11:45

      Hi Marilyn,

      I think many of us when we hear the words, ‘New York’, automatically think about a congested city, not thinking that New York State is so much different than New York City. It was miles and miles of beautiful green trees and the traffic was not at all what we expected . . . such a peaceful drive. Keep checking back for more posts. It great to see all the comments, as it helps with the ‘home sick’ feeling, even at age 50, you still get ‘home sick’:)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

