6-15-12, Day 7 – Internship

Forty-nine more days of my internship to complete!

I’m not sure how many more pics you really want to see of what I prep every morning for the bakery-cafe, so I think this will be the last pics of whoopie pies, eclairs, chocolate indulgence, lemon and fruit tarts, tiramisu and pies for awhile.  I’ll post some pics of these same products the last week I’m on the pastry side, and you can decide if my skills have improved!

Busy, busy day today.!  Besides prepping the usual items for the bakery-cafe, 450 fruit tarts were assembled this morning, 60 quarts of buttercream, 60 quarts of chocolate cupcakes, and 60 quarts of coconut macaroons shaped into triangles, which are pretty cool looking.  I am hoping to get a pic of the bakery case for all of you to see, but I need to run by my supervisor first to make sure it’s ok to take a pic and post on my blog.  Still had enough energy after work to muster up a 3 mile run:)

As I’ve mentioned before, the people I work with are just amazing!  They get so many interns into the bread and pastry side, that it’s just another day for them.  They know we are all learning, and I seem to be catching on fairly quickly, but just need to get the rack oven down pat, as to what ‘goes in’ and ‘comes out’.  As I mentioned before, it’s a huge rack oven, so there is always product moving in and out.  Once I get the ovens in check, I hope to get more hands on experience with the laminated doughs.

For our ‘lunch’ this morning at 9:00 am, we had pizza that was made on the bread side . . . so yummy!  The benefits of working in a bakery:)  That’s it for now . . . have a wonderful weekend!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melody
    Jun 16, 2012 @ 03:09:50

    Geesh, just caught up on your blog and now I’m hungry for sweets!!! Looks delicious! Do you get to sample everything too? I bet Dale is making a list of goodies he’d like to try when you get home! 🙂

    Reply

    • Pam Barnes
      Jun 16, 2012 @ 19:48:39

      Hi Melody! We always make sure that we weigh ingredients accurately, but we do take time to taste just a little tiny bit, as if I were to sample one of everything, I would need to run more than once a day! As for Dale, he really likes the breads more than the sweets, and funny thing is for me, when you’re around the pastries all the time, you really don’t crave sweets much. I’m getting hooked on a flax seed bread at King Arthur . . . it makes a wonderful grilled cheese sandwich:)

      Reply

  2. dale barnes
    Jun 15, 2012 @ 22:33:08

    Yes everything looks delicious glad your learning with a good support staff enjoy every minute I love you!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

