7-2-12, Day 20 – Internship

It’s crazy how the days are passing by so quickly, now.  Just seems like I started my work week and tomorrow is my last day before my ‘weekend off’!  Sorry, didn’t get an opportunity to get out to the bakery/cafe before customers arrived, so will have to try tomorrow.  One thing I did do, though, is made of list of all the product I have made since I began at King Arthur Flour.  So here it goes!

Chocolate chip cookie dough, lemon curd, caramel, shortcakes, American buttercream, flourless cookie dough, lemon tarts, brownies, raspberry bars, magic bars, granola, marshmallows, nut filling for Ruzzenzopf, spinach feta filling for croissants and quiche, biscotti, blueberry scones, quiche, sticky bun smear, streusel, cinnamon bun smear, brisee for tart shells, Spanish vanilla cake, coffee cakes, apple pie, rhubarb pie, coconut cream pie, lemon meringue pie, whoopie pie batter.  Then there’s the prep in the morning for the bakery/cafe; Napoleans, eclairs, chocolate indulgence, lemon and fruit tarts, tiramisu, whoopie pies, coconut macaroons, almond clouds, and one day so far do prep for danish and croissants.  Some products you make several times, which is great, as it really helps to develop those skills in the bakery.

Hope all is going well with everyone back home!  Have a great rest of your day, and I’ll check in tomorrow:)

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melody
    Jul 05, 2012 @ 13:05:47

    With a list of those items you’ve made, I’m sure you’ll be setting up shop somewhere, right? They sound heavenly, and it doesn’t sound like you get many breaks! Love the pics!

    Reply

    • Pam Barnes
      Jul 06, 2012 @ 21:50:21

      I’ll be working out in the industry for now. Takes alot of money opening a bakery, even with purchasing second hand equipment. At some point down the road, maybe turning our basement into a State licensed kitchery/bakery and selling at Farmer’s Markets, doing some teaching, etc. Not sure, as I like to take things one day at a time and I’ll see where my path goes:) King Arthur is very good about making sure everyone on both the pastry and bread side gets a ‘morning lunch’. All of us take lunch together, so it’s really nice, as you get to know everyone and as excited as I am to get back home, I will miss them all:)

      Reply

  2. Kathy
    Jul 03, 2012 @ 02:30:01

    Wow…sounds like you have been crazy busy the last few days.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

