7-5-12, Day Off

Last day off before heading back to work tomorrow and I’m ready, as each day that passes, it means I’m one more day closer to going home!  This morning I got my workout in, then went to King Arthur to do a little shopping.  I purchased a Cuisinart Ice Cream/Sorbet/Yogurt maker.  With my discount, I came out pretty darn good!  Also got some tart rings and Baking Artisian Breads by Ciril Hitz, which I’ve been waiting to get.  Each paycheck, I purchase a couple of items, so it doesn’t hit the pocket book to much:)  I took a few pics while I was there.  The first is the back part of the cafe that is getting close to being done.  The second pic is of the bread side of the bakery and this doesn’t even capture the entire bread side!  I’ll have to get a pic of the pastry side this weekend.  I decided to drive to Lebanon, which is only 10 minutes away from where I am temporarily living.  They have a Farmer’s Market on Thursdays, but I still think the Farmer’s Market in Hanover on Wednesdays, is by far better, so I’ll stick to that one.

Some exciting e-mails today!  I decided I’m going to Burlington, Vermont on July 25th.  I’m first going to Churchstreet Marketplace,  http://www.churchstmarketplace.com/, downtown Burlington.  I’m stopping at Shelburne Farms, http://www.shelburnefarms.org/, which is a nonprofit environmental education center, 1,400-acre working farm, and National Historic Landmark on the shores of Lake Champlain in Shelburne, Vermont. Their mission is to cultivate a conservation ethic for a sustainable future.  They also have a bakery on the premises, O Bread Bakery, http://www.obread.com/, European-style family owned and operated for 30 years.  If I’m not too exhausted, there’s one more place I would like to visit and that’s Red Hen Baking Company, http://www.redhenbaking.com/.  I found out about the above bakeries from my landlord, who lived in Burlington for several years, so she gave me a few recommendations of bakeries to visit and where to stop and eat breakfast and lunch:)  We’ll see if I can get it all in during my one day trip there.

Well, that’s it for now.  Need to start getting settled in for the night, as I usually hit the sack by 8 pm:)  Good night everyone!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melody
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 20:47:50

    Love your outings! King Arthur looks huge! Is there a place in Madison that compares in size? Do you know how many people work there? Wish we could all get on a plane and visit, so you can give us a tour!

    Reply

    • Pam Barnes
      Jul 06, 2012 @ 21:52:37

      Glad you’re enjoying my outings, Melody! King Arthur Flour is pretty big. I’ll have to get several pics throughout the building, just so that you can get a better idea as to the size. It’s amazing how many customers shop there everyday. I can’t wait to see the cafe once that’s finished which should be in the next few weeks. If you’re ever out this way, I would highly recommend stopping by. Wouldn’t it be awesome to have a King Arthur Flour in Wisconsin!!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

