7-8-12, Day 24 – Internship

Had another great day!  I was solo this morning making croissant and danish, but nice to know I had my co-workers nearby if I had any questions.  Pictures from L-R:  plain croissants, cinnamon buns, blueberry/cheese danish, almond danish and ham/cheese croissant.  I made sticky buns and spinach croissant, but didn’t have time to get pictures.  It was a great feeling to be able to do this on my own today and to see the end result right there in front of you as it comes out of the rack oven.  Leaving for the day and walking by the bakery/cafe, no greater sense of pride that overcomes you knowing you made those products:)  Just to give you an idea how the morning ‘rolls’, no punt intended . . . I start a little after 4 am with rolling out the croissant dough on a sheeter . . . a must in a bakery if you’re going to be rolling a lot of dough, pie crusts, tarts, etc!  After that, its continuing with rolling dough on the sheeter, but I didn’t need to do brioche or hazelnut loaf this morning.  Then in between proofing and baking, you help with separating out other product for the bakery/cafe i.e., muffins, cookies, packaging cookies, cutting bars, decorating cupcakes and whatever else you have time to help with in between.  I absolutely love what I do!  I leave work feeling exhausted, but a great sense of pride I can’t explain:)  I haven’t felt this way in years and am so passionate about what I do, and I’m making alot of ‘dough’ . . . ok, a little bit of bakery humor:)

Have a good rest of your day, and I’ll check back in again tomorrow!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marilyn Thielman
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 03:42:52

    All of your pics of marshmallows inspired me to make a HUGE one to take to my son in Fort Collins, CO, where West of the city is a huge fire burning in the mountains! The fire is pretty well knocked down now after over 87,000 acres, but he’ll make good use of the marshmallows in a safer place. Just no outside fires allowed in CO for now! P.S. I used some almond flavoring in them also.

    Reply

    • Pam Barnes
      Jul 13, 2012 @ 20:59:11

      I thought of you the other day, Marilyn, when I was packaging cutting and packaging marshmallows. The popular sandwich out here, and also heard about it on MPR radio early this morning, is peanut butter and marshmallows:) It’s so sad all the destruction the fire has caused in Fort Collins, CO. I’m just glad that you son is safe:)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

