7-18-2012, Day Off

Today I decided to head into Norwich, which is only about 10 minutes away from where I’m renting.  Can’t believe I haven’t been to this cute little town until today!

I first stopped at Dan and Whitts and their motto is, ‘if they don’t have it, you probably don’t need it’!  They pretty much everything, and if they don’t, they will try to get it for you.  A very nice gentleman that was busy stocking the shelves, gave me a tour, and just when I thought I had seen the whole store, there was more and more!  I mean, they have everything from garden stuff, tools, fresh steaks, vegetables, canning and freezing equipment, canned goods, school supplies . . . the list just goes on and on.  Kind of reminds me of a combination of a Dorn, Ace and Farm & Fleet all rolled into one!  My dad would love tinkering around in this store:)

The Norwich Inn wasn’t open, as I was there fairly early in the morning, but I did take a picture of one of their beautiful flower boxes on their porch.  Love the colors and thinking I may take this pic to our local garden center when I get back and plant something like this next summer on our porch:)

Next was stopping in at Allechante where I purchased a blueberry muffin, which I can’t believe I ate, since I had a fairly good breakfast!

Lastly, was a stop at the Norwich Bookstore, which is one of the nicest bookstores I have ever been in!  Seriously, I could have stayed another 2 hours just looking at all their cookbooks upstairs.  I’m thinking I may go back again on one of my days off:)  They had a lot of really unique cookbooks, which I really like.  Although I purchased a book published by Williams and Sonoma, I hadn’t seen it in any of the bookstores in Madison, or at Williams and Sonoma at West Towne Mall.  The recipes gathered in this book are a mixture of family favorites and modern renditions of timeless classics, and also include a selection of treats from expert bakers and well-known bloggers across the country.  Just a few of the recipes to get your taste buds going are; spiced pumpkin coffeecake with brown sugar-pecan streusel, decadent dulce de leche layer cake, rhubarb custard with pistachio crumble, apple whiskey cake, pistaschio-almond bars with citrus glaze, figgy cardamom bread and hot cross bun loaf, just to name a few!

I ended my day by going to my favorite farmer’s market in Hanover.  Had a really nice conversation with an elderly lady that sat by me waiting for the market to open.  She grew up in Ohio and went to college in Indiana and later in her life about 15 years ago, decided to settle in Vermont.  It was a great way to end my day!

Glad to hear you had rain in and around Mt. Horeb!  Hopefully there is more to come, we really need it back home.  I’ll check back in tomorrow!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melody
    Jul 20, 2012 @ 02:15:16

    This place looks so quaint…and we must go to Dan and Whitts someday! It’s like you are surrounded by interesting places and people! What a cool place to be.

    We can see the grass slightly grinning now…from the rain. It’s amazing what a little water will do.

    Have a good week at work! 🙂

    Reply

    • Pam Barnes
      Jul 28, 2012 @ 22:59:56

      There is so much to see out here, but not enough time to get to everything on my days off. When I work, I too tired;) Dale said the grass is almost getting to the point where he may mow this week. Crazy how he hasn’t mowed since the 2nd week in June!

      Reply

  2. Kathy
    Jul 20, 2012 @ 02:14:58

    I love reading about your explorations and adventures.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

