7-21-12, Day 33 – Internship

I think it’s only going to be on my days or after I’m done with work on the bread side that I can get some pictures of bread and the bakery/cafe area.  It’s too busy with getting everything shaped and out to the bakery/cafe.  This morning they were a little short of help on the pastry side, so I helped out for about 3 hours.  It was a good feeling to be asked to help out, since I already knew the routine.  Still trying to get a feel for the dough when I make baguettes.  Get a little frustrated at times, but I decided I’m sticking to how I learned in class and the Head Baker or Director can give me their guidance when they’re on the bread side.  I try to take whatever opportunity I can to shape bread, so I helped out one of my team members about a 1/2 hour before I left shaping baguettes.  That helped a lot:)

Just made our reservations to take the Lake Express Ferry back on August 25th from Muskegon, MI to Milwaukee, WI.  It’s about a 2 1/2 hour ride across Lake Michigan, and will give Dale a break from all the driving.  Can’t wait to get home!  I miss my family and friends, baking in my own kitchen, and the town of Mt. Horeb!

I’ll check back in tomorrow.  Have a good evening everyone!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marilyn Thielman
    Jul 22, 2012 @ 01:28:58

    Your upcoming trip on the ferry brought back memories. When I was a kid I did the trip with my parents; they had been on the ferry when they were first married! My dad grew up in Muskegon, MI, so it was fun seeing his old home. Back then it was called “The Milwaukee Clipper,” and we put in at Milwaukee. Have fun!

    Reply

    • Pam Barnes
      Jul 28, 2012 @ 23:05:00

      Taking the ferry will cut down our driving time by 2 1/2 hrs. I did read that for those who get motion sickness, the waters can sometimes be choppy. I’m not one to get sick to my stomach being on a boat or airplane, so we’ll just enjoy the ride.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

