7-31-12, Day 43 – Internship

Today was a great way to end my week, because tomorrow is the beginning of my weekend off, and even more exciting is that tomorrow is August 1st!  That means only 17 more days now until I get to see Dale.  I haven’t seen him since June 4th, so pretty excited!!

I was able to get some pictures before I left work today.  This is at about 12:45 pm, and many of our breads are out in the bakery/cafe area by 8-8:30 am at the latest, but we’re still shaping a few more boules at that time and making pizzas.  Today we shaped approximately 250 baguettes, 48 batards, and I’m not even sure of the numbers on all the other breads.  I’m just focus on the shaping, not the numbers:)  So much bread is sold by the time I leave work.  I really wish I had the opportunity to take a picture before the bread leaves the bakery out to the cafe area, but I’m happy with what I can show you for now.  I did get a few pictures of the coolers out by the bakery/cafe.  There are to go sandwiches, par-baked pizzas, pizza dough, cookie dough, and so much more!  The one picture shows the middle seating area before you get up to the bakery/cafe area.  I’ll try to get some better pictures tomorrow or Thursday.

It was really nice this morning, as the Head Baker worked on the bench with us and he showed me another way to shape baguettes.  So just as I’m starting to get comfortable way with the ‘sewing machine’ method as we call it, now it’s learning another method that produces a tighter baguette.  He also asked if I had scored any of the baguettes yet, and I said no!  He said not everyone gets to score baguettes before they leave their internship and I feel that you good enough!  I was just so honored to receive that compliment from him and it meant the world to me:)  Kind of nervous though, but some of the bakers were talking about their first time scoring baguettes – it was funny and we had a few laughs!

Hope all is well with everyone back home and again, I so appreciate each of you that take the time to read my blog and/or comment!  It’s great, and keeps my heart close to home:)

Well, I have some chores to do this afternoon, so I want to get that out of the way before my day off tomorrow:)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gloria
    Jul 31, 2012 @ 21:05:38

    The breads just all look so good and what a nice compliment you got from the head baker, way to go!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

