8-8-12, Day 51 – Day Off

Obsession you say!  Yup, I have a problem, and a serious one, it’s my obsession with acquiring cookbooks, or related books about culinary adventures!  I couldn’t just purchase one book today, nope, had to get two!  My latest purchases were from a quaint second-hand bookstore in West Lebanon, and I’ve had one of them on my ‘seek and find’ list for quite sometime now.  That would be Brother Juniper’s Bread Book Slow Rise As Method and Metaphor by Peter Reinhart.  I can’t wait to get reading this tonight!  The other is a book that one of the bakers at work recommended, Kitchen Confidential, Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly, by Anthony Bourdain.  So you see, it’s not only me with an obsession, but then I have my enablers that tell me about other books!

You think my obsession would stop here, but no!  I have subscriptions to Taste of Home, Bon Appetit and Food Magazine!  Then to top that off, I don’t own any of those teeny recipe boxes, not me!  Give me those big long card boxes that I already have filled to the brim!  Oh, I did forget the two small recipe boxes that I kept from my late Aunt Elsie, with all her original recipes; stained, faded and worn – I love them:)  I came to Vermont with 4 books in tow, and will bringing back a box filled to the brim!  Dale may just have to strap me on top of the car to make room for everything in our little Honda Fit:)  Let me just say, I’m not giving up any of the books, Dale!

So your question might be, do I really use these cookbooks, magazines and recipes cut from magazines?  You betcha ya!  My idea of a vacation is grabbing a spot in the living room on the couch surrounded by a carefully selected stack of cookbooks and a good cup of coffee.  And thank you to my loving husband, who endures and yet supports my obsession and passion for each and everyone one of these books, even if my collection is beginning to take up the bookcases in our home library!  We can always expand the kitchen, Dale!

Have a good evening everyone!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marilyn Thielman
    Aug 09, 2012 @ 14:28:00

    God love you; we must be twins! “Kitchen Confidential” was also recommended to me way back when. It is on the “Must Read” list of any person even THINKING about going into culinary! And if anyone has ever been in my house, you know that there is a FILE CABINET in the kitchen full of recipes; a huge bookcase in my office; lots more books downstairs; and always a collection of cookbooks by the living room sofa where I also sit with a cup of coffee and go thru books! I have a stained, favorite recipe from my grandmother framed on the wall. Your Aunt Elsie’s recipe boxes have me trumped, however. Those recipes are PRICELESS!

    Reply

    • Pam Barnes
      Aug 09, 2012 @ 20:54:16

      Well, they say everybody has a twin, and I guess I have one in Barneveld! Seriously, I’ve had several people come up to me in Mt. Horeb and call me this other person’s name and said you wouldn’t believe it, but you look so much like this woman in Barneveld! Since Don is such a talented carpenter, maybe he could build you more cookbook space in your office:) Just sayin!

      Reply

  2. Laurel
    Aug 09, 2012 @ 11:35:44

    Love it Pam! I know I can always come to you for recipe ideas! btw our bookshelf is full of cookbooks and food books too!

    Reply

    • Pam Barnes
      Aug 09, 2012 @ 20:50:49

      And the same from me to you! When I get back, you should stop over to my place on one of your trips to Blanchardville to look through my book:) But I hope to see you way before then!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

