8-13-12, Day 56 – Internship

AUGUST 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21!  I can’t believe it!  The week is here that Dale will be arriving!!!!!!  Trying so hard to keep my concentration on my internship with only 6 work days to go, but yet so excited to see Dale this Friday . . . stay focused, Pam!

This morning I started out on the bread side, but was then pulled to the pastry side later, as we were short-staffed.  It was kind of nice, as it gave me an opportunity to jump right in to help, as I already knew the drill on the pastry side.

I took a few pics of the new bread display that I mentioned in an earlier post.  All of our bread is not out in this display, as there are speed racks of bread over to the side to replenish.  Then we also have the display of breads as you walk in the front door (I posted that picture in an earlier post).  The other picture is of the new mural we.  What’s really neat about it, is that it’s large magnetic pieces which they can interchange throughout the year!

I’ve been thinking about a lot of things lately.  When I first made the decision two years ago to leave my HR career behind, and best decision ever!  Then thinking I may want to open a small certified bakery in the basement of our home.  After graduating from the Baking & Pastry Arts program, and my ‘soon to be completed’ internship, you meet many people along the way in the baking industry.  Many of them have owned their own business at one time or another.  A few of them may decide down the road to try it again, and some may not.  Most say it’s rewarding, but a hard life at the same time, pulling many hours per week, sometimes 60-70 hrs/week.  You’re certainly not going to get rich being a baker, but you will be rich and fulfilled as an artisan, watching customers smile as they take that first bite of that croissant, danish, sourdough bread, whatever their baked delight may be!  Or, watching the little children peer through the windows at King Arthur Flour with complete amazement, and then so excited when you look up at them and wave!  Who knows . . . we may have inspired them in their young life to be a professional baker one day because of that one brief moment!

And, here I am thinking in the beginning that all I want to do is bake bread.  But when it really comes down to it, I now realize that a ‘good’ baker is one who is well-rounded.  Who steps up to the plate for the good of the bakery.  Maybe you may bake bread or pastry 90% of the time, but you also need to be flexible to help wherever needed, whether it’s doing dishes, sweeping the floor, remembering that it’s all done for the good of the bakery, the customer, and your team!  A good baker is one that brings their determination, organizational skills and their passion to work each and everyday.  Where will I go from here, I don’t know, but as long as I’m in a baking environment, I know I must be doing something right because I am happy and fulfilled each and everyday with flour all over my shoes, pants, shirt, nose and hat!

Have a good day:)

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 02:05:36

    3 more days…I’ll make sure I get Dale on that plane on Friday. So excited for you to get together again and come home to us.

    Reply

    • Pam Barnes
      Aug 15, 2012 @ 13:28:07

      Thank you again, Kathy, for taking Dale to the airport on Friday. It’s much appreciated. We’ll see you later Saturday, August 25th. I imagine we’ll get back to Madison by 4-5 pm. Dale asked if I wanted to go out for breakfast the next day for my birthday. I said all I want to do is wake up in the morning, make breakfast and read the Sunday paper and watch TV, which I haven’t done for 3 months!!!

      Reply

  2. Melody
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 00:12:45

    Have a fantastic week Pam! So excited for you!

    Reply

  3. Gloria
    Aug 14, 2012 @ 20:44:42

    Once you have finished your internship I know you will take that next step very seriously and you will know when you have found the right decision and just remember sometimes it just doesn’t happen overnight. Take your time and you will know what is right for you.

    Reply

    • Pam Barnes
      Aug 15, 2012 @ 13:25:23

      Thanks for the words of wisdom, Mom:) Dale keeps telling me that to take my time and not to rush right out and just take the first job. As many questions as a bakery has for me, I will have the same in return:)

      Reply

  4. dale barnes
    Aug 14, 2012 @ 10:31:09

    Can’t. Wait to see you Friday baby love your post!!!

    Reply

  5. Clare
    Aug 13, 2012 @ 22:34:02

    Thinking of you, Pam!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

