8-14-12, Day 57 – Internship

AUGUST 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21!  Only three more days to go before I see Dale!

Today is my Friday, so looking forward to the next two days off.  It actually went pretty well on the bread side, and today marks the end of week four on the bread side, with one more week to go and I’m done!  Can’t come soon enough:)  I will say that throughout my internship, the training that I have received from the Master Pastry Chef has impacted my baking internship the most!  He is very thorough, and not only teaches you about the pastries you’re making, but adds in a bit of history, as well as why certain things are done this or that way with the pastries.  It was easy to absorb and do what is needed on a daily basis when you have this kind of mentoring.  His patience and kind demeanor, make it easier for an intern to learn.

My main objective on the bread side was to work on my shaping techniques, and this was one of my three objectives of my bakery internship, but I have a long ways to go with developing great shaping skills.  It certainly won’t happen in five weeks!  One of the bakers on the bread side said I have come a long way and my shaping has improved a lot.  When you shape some 1,200 baguettes on a weekly basis, you get lots of time on the bench shaping!  Then you get more experience shaping all the other breads.

Got home this afternoon and had a couple hours of down time and then a surge of energy again, so I started and finished cleaning not only my bedroom and bathroom, but the entire house!  Scrubbed the floors by hand, vacuumed, dusted, organized and the house smells wonderful!

I’m tired, so it’s time to call it a day.  I’ll check back in tomorrow:)  Have a good evening!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Fenton
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 14:24:27

    I love reading about your experiences! Dale will be there soon and you will have SO much fun together!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

